



Notice of meeting of

Education Scrutiny Committee

To: Councillors Aspden (Chair), Brooks (Vice-Chair), Hyman,

Morley, Merrett, Blanchard and Funnell

Co-opted Statutory Members:

Dr David Sellick (Church of England Representative), Mrs Leeanne Branton (Parent Governor Representative) and Mr Bill Schofield (Parent Governor Representative)

Date: Wednesday, 30 July 2008

Time: 6.00 pm

Venue: The Guildhall, York

<u>A G E N D A</u>

1. Declarations of Interest (Pages 3 - 4)

At this point Members are asked to declare any personal or prejudicial interests they may have in the business on this agenda. A list of general personal interests previously declared are attached.

2. Minutes (Pages 5 - 12)

To approve and sign the minutes of the last meeting of the Committee held on 17 June 2008.

3. Public Participation

At this point in the meeting members of the public who have registered their wish to speak regarding an item on the agenda or an issue within the Committee's remit can do so. Anyone who wishes to register or requires further information is requested to contact the Democracy Officer on the contact details listed at the foot of this agenda. The deadline for registering is **Tuesday 29 July 2008** at **5:00pm**.





4. Update on recommendations rising from a previous scrutiny review of the Young Peoples Service (Pages 13 - 20)

This report provides an update on the implementation status of the recommendations arising from a previously completed scrutiny review of the 'Provision of Facilities for Young People in the City'.

5. School Governors Review (Pages 21 - 28)

This report presents the draft final report for the School Governors Review incorporating the changes requested by Members at the last meeting. These are shown as tracked changes for ease of viewing.

6. Education Scrutiny Committee Work Plan 2008-09 (Pages 29 - 30)

To consider and agree the updated workplan for the work of the Education Scrutiny Committee.

Democracy Officers:

Name: Catherine Clarke and Louise Cook (job share) Contact Details:

- Telephone (01904) 552030
- E-mail <u>catherine.clarke@york.gov.uk</u> and <u>louise.cook@york.gov.uk</u>
 (If contacting us by e-mail, please send to both Democracy Officers named above)

For more information about any of the following please contact the Democracy Officer responsible for servicing this meeting

- Registering to speak
- Business of the meeting
- Any special arrangements
- Copies of reports

Contact details are set out above.